Agony Reveals Ultra Difficult Mode in New Trailer

Agony Reveals Ultra Difficult Mode in New Trailer

report this ad

Agony aims to be one of the most gruesome and disturbing horror games released to date, and based on what we’ve seen of the game so far, it’s well on its way to accomplishing that goal. Anyone unconvinced just needs to check out the brutal new trailer released by developers Madmind Studio, which reveals the new game mode called Agony Mode.

The Agony Mode in Agony looks to up the difficulty considerably, throwing players into a procedurally-generated version of Hell. Players will have to explore a maze-like labyrinth with one life, fending off all sorts of twisted monsters and demons as they complete various objectives. Players who do well will end up the leaderboards as a means of competing with their friends and people online, giving the game a social element it wouldn’t have otherwise.

Check out the trailer for the new Agony Mode right here:

Like past trailers for Agony, this new trailer focuses a lot on the game’s unrelenting violence. As we stated earlier, it seems like Agony is shaping up to be one of the most disturbing horror games ever made, and it’s looking to achieve that goal through shocking violence and gore. At one point, Agony was filled with so much violent content, nudity, and gore that it was actually in danger of earning an Adults Only rating from the ESRB, which would have greatly restricted its sales potential the world over.

Some changes were made to the game to lower its rating down to M for Mature, but it should still push the envelope quite a bit. And any PC players who want to see the cut content that earned the game its initial Adults Only rating will be able to download a patch that adds it back in, if they so desire.

Besides just being incredibly violent, Agony is also looking to provide plenty of content for players to experience. With the addition of the Agony Mode, fans of the game should find plenty to do once they wrap up the main story.

Agony will launch on May 29 for PC, PS4, and Xbox One.