Everything you need to know about the Ed Sheeran event.

The Ed Sheeran event is perhaps the most unique collaboration in Pokémon Go to date.

There will be a special Ed Sheeran performance you can watch in-game, new music playing in the evenings, and to celebrate Ed Sheeran’s favourite starter – water Pokémon – increased spawns of each generation’s water type throughout the week.

This also sees the return of sunglasses Squirtle, both in the wild and in a field research task, who we haven’t seen in the game since July 2018. Now’s the time to pick one up!

On this page:

Pokémon Go Ed Sheeran special performance preview

Pokémon Go Ed Sheeran event start time: 11am PST time in UK, Europe and North America explained

Both the Ed Sheeran event and performance will go live at 11am PST on Monday, November 22nd 2021, which is the following start times:

  • UK: 7pm (GMT)
  • Europe: 8pm (CEST)
  • East Coast US: 2pm (EST)
  • West Coast US: 11am (PST)

With Niantic saying the performance is available “beginning” at the above times, it’s likely it will be streamed on demand throughout the week-long event. That said, it could still be a one off deal – so if you’re particularly keen to catch it, then make sure you log in at the above times.

Pokémon Go Ed Sheeran concert and song list: Where can you watch the Pokémon Go Ed Sheeran special performance?

Niantic has said you can watch the performance in the in-game News area of the app during the above event hours.

pokemon_go_ed_sheeran_event_6
Watch the Ed Sheeran performance by visiting the ‘News’ area of the Pokémon Go app.

You can find this by opening the menu (the Pokéball on the main screen) then pressing News in the upper right corner.

The Ed Sheeran performance features the following songs:

  • Perfect
  • Bad Habits
  • Overpass Graffiti
  • Thinking Out Loud
  • First Times
  • Shivers

As well as the dedicated performance, track ‘Overpass Graffiti’ will also be played in the evenings throughout the event.

Pokémon Go Ed Sheeran event spawns and bonuses

As well as a special performance, the Ed Sheeran event will have the following water starter spawns throughout the week:

pokemon_go_ed_sheeran_event_4
Sunglasses Squirtle is back!
  • Sunglasses Squirtle (rare spawn)
  • Totodile
  • Mudkip
  • Piplup
  • Oshawott
  • Froakie (rare spawn)

All of the above bar Froakie has the potential to be shiny. Sunglasses Squirtle, meanwhile, is a costume Pokémon with the unusual ability to keep its costume through its evolutions.

It’s also the first time Squirtle with sunglasses has appeared in the game since July 2018 – so it’s worth grabbing a few while you can!

As well as water spawns, there are the following Ed Sheeran event bonuses:

  • Daily Snapshot “surprise” (our guess – a cameo from Ed Sheeran)
  • Ed Sheeran track ‘Overpass Graffiti’ played in the evenings throughout the event
  • Event-exclusive field research (see later in the page)
  • Free event box (1x Lure Module, 20x Pokéballs, 10x Razz Berries, and 10x Pinap Berries)
  • Water-type themed stickers from spinning Stops, opening Gifts and the in-game shop
  • Ed Sheeran avatar items by redeeming code VVM87WGMMUZHTB8X during the event hours:
pokemon_go_ed_sheeran_event_1

What we know about Pokémon Go Ed Sheeran field research so far

As part of the Ed Sheeran collaboration, there will be event-specific field research rewards.

Only one field research task has been confirmed so far, with a sunglasses Squirtle reward:

  • TBC field research reward – Sunglasses Squirtle encounter

As with previous events, these research tasks will only appear during the event period – but can be completed after the event ends if you hang onto them.

pokemon_go_ed_sheeran_event_5




This week sees the arrival of the Ed Sheeran event.

Elsewhere, the long-running Misunderstood Mischief research can now be completed – learn the latest Arlo, Cliff, Sierra counters and Giovanni counters to help you succeed.

Other changes in Season of Mischief include a new Go Battle League, the addition of Raid Achievements and Ditto appearing elsewhere.

Other major updates in the past year include a level cap increase, the introduction of XL Candy, boosts to some XP sources and the addition of Platinum Medals.



Pokémon Go Ed Sheeran event end time: 1pm PST time in UK, Europe and North America explained

The Ed Sheeran event end time is on Tuesday, November 30th 2021 at 1pm PST, or the following end times:

  • UK: 9pm (GMT)
  • Europe: 10pm (CEST)
  • East Coast US: 4pm (EST)
  • West Coast US: 1pm (PST)

Hope you enjoy the Ed Sheeran performance and the starter spawns!


Source link